Stoll Keenon Ogden PLLC | Advertising Material

Stoll Keenon Ogden PLLC | Advertising Material

Louisville Attorneys Elected to Positions on State Bar Association

Published by: The Courier-Journal

A member of the Louisville law firm, Stoll Kennon Ogden PLLC, will serve as the president-elect of the Kentucky Bar Association.

Attorney Douglas Ballantine will serve a one-year term as president-elect effective Saturday, according to a press release. The position is also part of the association’s Board of Governors which oversees the management of the KBA. 

Ballantine has been with the Ogden firm since 1990 where he serves on its board of directors and the firm’s business litigation practice. 

A member of the Louisville Bar Association, he also served on the KBA’s Board of Governors from 2008-2014, as well as a number of committees with the state association. Additionally, in Louisville, he is on the Speed Museums’ Board of Governors. 

Louisville attorney Eric Weihe, who also works at the Ogden firm, will serve a one-year term as chair of the KBA’s Young Lawyers Division. 

Weihe has been with the firm since 2008, where he concentrates on insurance and personal injury litigation, including medical malpractice defense and commercial litigation, according to a release. 

Also a member of the Louisville Bar Association, he was previously named as a Kentucky Super Lawyer Rising Star. 

These announcements also came on the heels of several other attorneys being named to various positions with the KBA. 

Other Kentucky attorneys were also appointed to serve a one-year term with the KBA on its Board of Governors. The board “assists the court in regulating the practice of law in Kentucky, including lawyer discipline and continuing legal education.” Those elected include:

  • William Garmer, Lexington attorney president
  • Michael Sullivan, Owensboro attorney  will serve as immediate past president 
  • Stephen Smith, Fort Mitchell attorney, will serve as vice president
  • Van Sims, Paducah attorney, will represent the first supreme court district
  • John Meyer, Owensboro attorney, will represent the Second supreme court district
  • Howard Mann, Corbin attorney, will represent the 3rd supreme court district
  • Amy Cubbage, Louisville attorney, will represent the 4th supreme court district
  • Mindy Barfield, Lexington attorney, will represent the 5th supreme court district
  • Todd McMurtry, Fort Mitchell attorney, will represent the 6th supreme court district
  • Rhonda Blackburn, Pikeville attorney, will represent the 7th supreme court district